Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

Songs of My Faves I’m Most Grateful For

Happy Thanksgiving, Guitar Train passengers! I hope you are enjoying one of my favorite holidays with food, family, football, and of course, music. To go along with the gratitude theme of Thanksgiving, here are the songs of my favorite musicians which I am most grateful for.

Help!

The Beatles

It is too hard to pick just one Beatles song I am most grateful for since I’m grateful that the group even existed and made such amazing, genius music. So I won’t pick a song for this group.

No Jacket Required

Phil Collins – “We Said Hello Goodbye”

This is my favorite song of any musician, of all time, ever. So of course it makes my list of songs I am most grateful for.

Genesis glitter T-shirt

Genesis – “That’s All”

This song reassures me that I am not the only one feeling what I am feeling. It is my go to song when things aren’t going right.

Primitive Love

Gloria Estefan – “Conga”

This is the first Gloria Estefan (actually Miami Sound Machine) song that I ever heard. Oddly, I first heard it playing in a scene on a slow moving TV soap opera. I am most grateful for it because it led me to seek out more songs by Gloria Estefan which, in turn, led me to being a huge fan of hers.

Jon Secada CD cover

Jon Secada – “Always Something”

I first heard this song at a 1991 Gloria Estefan concert when Jon Secada took over the microphone for this one song. I was amazed from the first note he sang. Hearing this song led me to buy every CD he released since then in both English and Spanish.

cu Huey Lewis Sports poster

Huey Lewis and the News – “Couple of Days Off”

I chose this lesser known Huey Lewis and the News song for several reasons. First of all, it is much more of a hard rocker than the band’s other songs. Secondly, I frequently relate to the desire for wanting “a couple days off”. Also, this song was played over a montage of my beloved New York Giants football team getting ready for training camp in 1991 so I now associate this song with the team.

 

Guitar Train passengers, which songs of your favorite musicians are you most grateful for and why?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Songs of My Faves I’m Most Grateful For

  1. Nice idea for a gratitude post Quirky T, Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. First ten that come to my mind:

    James Brown – Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag
    Neutral Milk Hotel – In the Aeroplane Over the Sea
    John Lennon – God
    Beach Boys – Good Vibrations
    Eminem – Stan (featuring Dido)

    Bruce Springsteen – Born to Run
    Neil Young – Like a Hurricane
    Lou Reed – Caroline Says II
    Supremes – I Hear a Symphony
    Ramones – Oh Oh I Love Her So

    • Thanks for commenting. I like your choices for The Beach Boys, Bruce Springsteen, and The Supremes. I’ll have to listen to the songs on your list that I am not familiar with.

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

