Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

The Guitar Train Delivers Good News

 

The hard part about liking musicians who were popular in the past is that new music from them is hard to come by. Obviously, my favorites The Beatles, John Lennon, and George Harrison cannot make any new music. Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr still make new music but it’s not the same. Gloria Estefan hasn’t released a CD of original songs since 2011 and Jon Secada since 2005.

Phil Collins t-shirt

So that leaves just two of my favorites – Phil Collins and Huey Lewis and the News. Luckily I have good new music news about those musicians. Phil Collins, after being retired for years, has decided to record new music. I never thought I’d have the pleasure of hearing new sounds from this fave. I was so sad when he announced his retirement in 2011. I couldn’t imagine going through the rest of my life never hearing more from him. I understood he could no longer play the drums because of injuries. I understood that he might not want to go on grueling world tours anymore. But I wanted him to still make music. And now he is! My friend, another Phil Collins/Genesis fan, sent me the link to this article about Phil’s unretirement. http://www.cnn.com/2015/10/29/entertainment/phil-collins-ends-retirement-feat/index.html This friend cautioned me that since Phil is only going into the studio now, it could be awhile before his new CD is released. I can wait. I need new songs of anger from Phil Collins. I need new songs of happiness. I need more Phil Collins music!

Sports poster in hotel

The other favorite of mine who will release new music is Huey Lewis and the News. For the past 4 years, at their concerts, they have been performing a new song they wrote but haven’t recorded called “While We’re Young”. I like the song and I want to hear more. I read an article in which Huey Lewis talks about the possibility of releasing an EP or LP of new music. Make mine an LP! The more Huey Lewis and the News the better. Since the group is still together touring every year, they could easily spend the time when not touring in the recording studio making new music for all their fans.

 

I can’t imagine that new music from either of these two favorites would be disappointing. There have to be some songs that I like. After the music is released, it will be reviewed for The Guitar Train.

 

Guitar Train passengers, which of your favorite living musicians would you love to hear new music from?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Guitar Train Delivers Good News

  1. Pingback: Questions Quirky T Would Ask Her Faves | Guitar Train

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

