Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

Do I Want to Hear More? – Katrina and the Waves

Katrina and the Waves tape

Guitar Train Stop #2 in the new feature “Do I Want to Hear More?” listens to Katrina and the Waves. Similarly to the last stop about The Proclaimers, (https://guitartrain.wordpress.com/2014/11/06/do-i-want-to-hear-more-the-proclaimers/) I could only find one album by this group in the local library system and it was, also like The Proclaimers, only available on cassette tape. For both groups, the only songs I had heard were fast, catchy romantic songs that involve walking. Both The Proclaimers’ “I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)” and Katrina and the Waves’ “Walking on Sunshine” were on movie soundtracks. I first heard the Katrina and the Waves song in the 1989 movie, “Look Who’s Talking” starring John Travolta, Kirstie Alley, and the voice of Bruce Willis.

Despite my liking both songs after hearing them in movies, I was not at the time interested in hearing more music from these bands. So while having the songs included in hit movies brought publicity and high music chart positions for the songs, in my case, they didn’t lead me to buy any of their music. The movie placements also did not bring career long success for these bands in the U.S. (Although, Wikipedia estimates that the royalties for “Walking On Sunshine” from use in several other movies and commercials has earned the band $1 million per year from 2000-2010. Not bad for one song!)

Walkman and batteries

The Katrina and the Waves cassette tape I listened to (and yes I still have the equipment to play cassette tapes. In fact, I still have a dual deck stereo, a Walkman, and a portable radio with a cassette deck) was the band’s self-titled 1985 release. I really like it. The songs are fast, high energy just like “Walking on Sunshine” which is on the tape I listened to. I don’t understand the song “Going Down to Liverpool”. If I was going to Liverpool, I wouldn’t be doing nothing like Katrina sings in the song. I would definitely be going to all The Beatles sites including the Cavern and Penny Lane. Also, I wouldn’t be going “down” to Liverpool; it would be more like “Going Across the Ocean to Liverpool” (not as catchy). Despite that nitpicking, I definitely want to hear more of Katrina and the Waves.

 

Next month on The Guitar Train is Movie Soundtrack Month. Hop aboard to find out more of Quirky T’s favorite songs from movies.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Do I Want to Hear More? – Katrina and the Waves

  1. Pingback: Quirky T’s One Hit Wonders | Guitar Train

  2. Pingback: Quirky T’s Favorite Movie Soundtracks | Guitar Train

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

