Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

Quirky T’s Favorites Sing The Standards

 

The third stop as the Guitar Train explores The Standards listens to cover versions of these timeless songs performed by Quirky T’s favorite musicians. Interestingly, three of my five all time favorite musicians have recently released CDs with their versions of classic songs from the 20’s – 50’s.

 

Every time I hear music from the 40’s to the 50’s, I think “This is why The Beatles had to come along and why they became so popular, so no one would have to listen to this music anymore.” Apparently, Paul McCartney didn’t feel the same way as he released a CD of his version of songs from this time period. 2012‘s “Kisses on the Bottom” is the first and only Paul McCartney CD to put me to sleep. The pace of the music is much too slow for me. I just couldn’t get into it. Frank Sinatra recorded a version of George Harrison’s “Something” so I can imagine Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin singing other Beatles’ songs such as “Yes It Is”, “I Will”, and “I’ll Follow the Sun” but why is Paul McCartney doing The Standards? His voice doesn’t lend itself to this type of music.

 

I am very familiar with the Paul McCartney remake of the song “Get Yourself Another Fool” because it was one of only 20 songs that was continuously played where I work. It always annoyed me that of all The Beatles and Paul McCartney songs that could have been played – why that one? It’s not even his original song; it doesn’t accurately represent him.

 

The Beatles album

The Beatles album

Another remake Paul McCartney did on this CD is called “Bye Bye Blackbird”. All I could think about when I heard this song was The Beatles’ song “Blackbird” from “The Beatles” (White) album. I prefer The Beatles song.

 

Jon Secada - Classics

As I mentioned in the Guitar Train stop about Frank Sinatra songs, Jon Secada recorded a “duet” with Frank Sinatra on the song, “The Best is Yet to Come.”  https://guitartrain.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/the-standards-frank-sinatra/  Then in 2010 Jon Secada released a CD of his versions of The Standards called “Classics” in English and “Clasicos” for the Spanish version. I’d rather he make some new, original music for me to dance to and sing along with. At least “Classics” includes a fast song like “La Bamba” (which, while not a Standard, is a classic). Interestingly, the CD also contains a cover of a Frank Sinatra song, “My Way” and “Besame Mucho” which The Beatles also covered.

Gloria Estefan also recorded a “duet” with Frank Sinatra on the song “Come Rain or Come Shine”. While I liked that recording, I was not excited in 2013 to hear that Gloria Estefan was going to release her version of The Standards. Why, why, why? At least I’m used to slower songs from Gloria Estefan but enough with these classics. The songs on Gloria Estefan’s CD simply called “The Standards” drag out so much. Just sing the next word already! They are the opposite of Gloria Estefan songs such as “Conga” where she sings very fast. I guess it shows how talented she is to be able to sing two drastically different styles of music. I certainly wouldn’t expect Frank Sinatra or Dean Martin to sing “Conga” or “The Rhythm’s Gonna Get You.”

 

Paul McCartney and Gloria Estefan have stated they recorded their versions of The Standards because they have connections to the songs. They grew up listening to the songs and have memories associated with these songs. I don’t have those connections or memories and hearing these songs hasn’t given me any. So please, Huey Lewis and the News, keep your remakes to soul songs and don’t torture me with more Standards.

 

Guitar Train passengers, have any of your favorite musicians recorded cover songs in a genre you don’t like? Did these remakes change your opinion of that genre?

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Quirky T’s Favorites Sing The Standards

  1. Pingback: The Guitar Train Stops to see Paul McCartney!!! | Guitar Train

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

