Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

The Guitar Train Stops to Listen to Ringo Starr Songs

 

Y Not CD cover

This stop on The Guitar Train, Quirky T listens to the post Beatles solo work of Ringo Starr. I only began to listen to Ringo’s solo albums in 2010 with his CD, “Y Not” I have never seen him in concert with his All-Starr Band. I think that band is a great idea but there were never any other performers I liked enough to make it worth it to me to pay so much to hear Ringo sing five songs – “With A Little Help From My Friends”, “Yellow Submarine”, “Octopus’s Garden”, “Photograph”, and “It Don’t Come Easy”.

 

I’m impressed that Ringo is still making original music and touring. Being dubbed the least talented of The Beatles hasn’t stopped him from co-writing and producing new music pretty regularly. I would think once you’re happily married, very rich, and hugely successful, you wouldn’t have much to write about, complain about, or yearn for but Ringo does. He still wants peace and love.

 

Liverpool - Ringo's street

Ringo’s Street in Liverpool

As with John Lennon’s solo songs, I was surprised by how personal and autobiographical Ringo’s songs are. The song “Liverpool 8” http://youtu.be/OM34giD4o4w  from the 2008 CD of the same name is a chronological retelling of Ringo’s life in relation to his music and his hometown of Liverpool.  “The Other Side of Liverpool” from 2010’s “Y Not” and “In Liverpool” from Ringo’s 2012 CD, “Ringo 2012” also depict his hometown.

Ringo CD cover

 

Again as with John’s songs, I liked hearing the songs I was already familiar with such as the songs on “Photograph: The Very Best of Ringo Starr”. The song “Photograph” itself is surprisingly up-tempo for a sad song about a loved one not returning. Ringo’s songs seem to span several genres such as pop, country, and Spanish influenced. His rhymes are a little too easy and I wish at times they were more inventive and less trite. As a whole, I enjoyed Ringo Starr’s solo songs and I would listen to them again.

 

Guitar Train passengers, what are your favorite post Beatles Ringo Starr song and album?

 

On our next trip, The Guitar Train will stop to listen to a Beatles cover band, Strawberry Fields, who perform every Saturday at B.B. King Blues Club in New York City.

 

Single Post Navigation

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

