Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

The Guitar Train Stops to Listen to John Lennon Songs

As promised in her Quick Station Stop called “Fave Post Fab Four Songs of the Fab Four”, https://guitartrain.wordpress.com/2013/04/18/fave-post-fab-four-songs-of-the-fab-four-quick-station-stop-3/ Quirky T is stopping to listen to the post Beatles music of John Lennon and Ringo Starr. These are the two Beatles whose solo music I am least familiar with.

 

This first stop listens to some of John Lennon’s after Beatles efforts. I admit I shied away from his music because of the Yoko Ono influence and participation. Judging by their work on The Beatles’ “song” “Revolution 9” (my least favorite Beatles song), I did not think I would like their music. I did hear more songs similar to that one as I listened to “Double Fantasy” which contained many Yoko songs.

Strawberry Fields

 

I’m not bashing Yoko Ono but it’s just not my type of music. I kept an open mind about her. I don’t blame her for breaking up The Beatles since they were heading in that direction anyway. I did think it was too much for her to be in the recording studio with them all the time. Yet, I did hear her say in an interview that if she hadn’t gone with him, John wouldn’t have gone at all. So if that’s true, she might have kept the group together a little longer.

The Dakota

The Dakota

 

I think Yoko Ono has done a good job with John’s legacy. She seems to have kept it about his music and desire for peace and not just commercially cashing in. I don’t know how she still lives in The Dakota and emotionally deals with passing the area where John was killed (especially since she was there when it happened). When I was looking up John Lennon CDs on my local library’s database, it was sad to see “1940 – 1980” after his name. I sometimes think of what he’d be doing now if he was still alive. He’d probably still be making music, promoting world peace, and possibly having mini social media tiffs with Paul McCartney.

Walls and Bridges

 

For this stop, I listened to “Mind Games”, “Walls and Bridges”, “Rock ‘n’ Roll”, and “Double Fantasy”. I was surprised by how personal some of the songs are. A song like “Dear Yoko” can only be sung by John Lennon to Yoko Ono. While a song like “Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)” is a very personal song that John wrote to his young son, Sean, and with the name removed, can refer to any boy. I did like Yoko’s counter on that song with her “Beautiful Boys” about both Sean and John. It was nice to hear the John Lennon songs I was familiar with such as “(Just Like) Starting Over”, “Watching the Wheels”, and “Mind Games”. I’m glad I listened to these CDs so I have a more complete knowledge of John Lennon’s solo work.

 

Guitar Train passengers, what are your favorite post Beatles John Lennon solo song and album and why?

 

The next stop on the Guitar Train explores Ringo Starr’s post Beatles solo songs so hop back aboard for that stop.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Guitar Train Stops to Listen to John Lennon Songs

  1. arsenalfanmsp on said:

    John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band is John performing songs, whereas Yoko Ono/Plastic Ono Band is Yoko performing. I’ve never heard the latter, but as I am also not a fan of Yoko’s music, I would hate for someone to intend to pick up John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band and pick up the Yoko one instead.

  2. arsenalfanmsp on said:

    Of his post-Beatles works, I only own John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band (my favorite by quite a bit and not to be confused with Yoko Ono/Plastic Ono Band), Imagine, Double Fantasy, and Milk & Honey. John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band is filled with intensely personal songs with not a lot of high production values.

    Song-wise, it is a tough decision for me to pick a favorite. The pure pop song “Nobody Told Me” from Milk & Honey is a song I rarely tire of, but not sure I’d call it my favorite. My other choices include “Watching the Wheels”, “Look at Me”, and “How Do You Sleep?”.

    • Thanks for your comment. You’re definitely more familiar with John Lennon’s music than I am. What’s
      the difference between John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band and Yoko Ono/Plastic Ono Band?

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

