Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

Favorites Month Part 2 – Barry Manilow

This month the Guitar Train is making stops for Favorites Month Part 2. Last September, Quirky T looked at her four very favorite musicians/bands – The Beatles, (https://guitartrain.wordpress.com/2013/09/05/favorites-month-the-beatles/) Phil Collins, (https://guitartrain.wordpress.com/2013/09/12/favorites-month-phil-collins/) Gloria Estefan, (https://guitartrain.wordpress.com/2013/09/19/favorites-month-gloria-estefan/) and Huey Lewis and the News (https://guitartrain.wordpress.com/2013/09/26/favorites-month-huey-lewis-and-the-news/) . This month, I’ll look at my second tier favorites – Barry Manilow and Jon Secada.

 

This One's For You album cover

First Stop (The First Time I Heard His Music)

This stop looks at the man, the legend, the much maligned – Barry Manilow. His name definitely sticks out among my favorite musicians. I have my mom to thank (some would say blame) for that. When I was a child, she went through a period where she played Barry Manilow and Neil Diamond records almost non-stop. Since we only had one stereo and no TVs then, there was no way to escape the music. For some reason, Barry Manilow’s music stuck in my brain more so than Neil Diamond’s music.

Back then, I craved a fast Barry Manilow song to keep me awake. Surprisingly, there were several but the one I liked the most was “Break Down the Door” from the 1981 album, “If I Should Love Again”. Listening to that song now creeps me out with its domestic violence backdrop. Other favorite fast songs include “Daybreak”, “It’s a Miracle”, and of course, “Copacabana”.

 

Ultimate Manilow

Ultimate Manilow

Second Stop (What I Did Next)

Fifteen years after my repeated listening to (brainwashing by) Barry Manilow, I sought out his music on my own. I borrowed my mom’s Barry Manilow records to listen to his music of my own free will. I even bought “Ultimate Manilow”, one of his greatest hits albums on CD. It’s scary how I remembered most of the words to the songs I had heard a decade and a half before.

If I Should Love Again album cover

 

Repeated Destinations (Favorite Song and Album)

The two Barry Manilow songs that reach me on an emotional level and I relate to the most are “All the Time” and “Beautiful Music”.

My favorite Barry Manilow album is “If I Should Love Again” released in 1981. It’s funny to think that was actually his newest record back when my mom was playing it constantly.

 

Barry Manilow Greatest Hits Album cover

Now Departing (What Non-Fans Say about Him)

Barry Manilow has been making music for over 40 years and has been made fun of for almost as long. Even I poked a little fun at him in this post. He is an easy target but in the end, he has the last laugh. He’s still making music and performing in concerts decades after he started. He has millions of rapid fans. Not many musicians from the 1970’s (or even after) can say that.

 

 

Conducting This Train (Why He Will Always be My Favorite)

Listening to Barry Manilow now is comforting to me because of the familiar songs I grew up listening to. That’s probably why I don’t seek out much of his new music. I now crave the familiarity rather than the musicality. I have seen Barry Manilow in concert twice. He puts on an amazing show which explains his continued popularity.

Barry Manilow piano pendent

All Aboard (Why I Wish Others Would Listen to Him and Where to Start)

This is weird but Barry Manilow is the only one of my favorites whom I don’t actively recommend listening to. I guess that’s because of how his music came into my life; I don’t know that I would ever listen to his music if I hadn’t been exposed to it as a child. It’s just a part of my life but not necessarily anything I feel the need for others to experience. Besides, everyone has probably already heard a few Barry Manilow songs in their lifetime.

 

 

Official Track

For more information on this music legend, Barry Manilow’s official website is http://www.barrymanilow.com

 

 

Guitar Train passengers, is there a musician whose music you like but don’t readily admit to liking? If you’re brave enough, tell Quirky T who it is, why you like the music, and why you’re reluctant to admit it.

 

 

At the next stop on the Guitar Train, Quirky T looks at the last of her favorites – Jon Secada. Hop aboard the Guitar Train to read about this singer-songwriter.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Favorites Month Part 2 – Barry Manilow

  1. Johna752 on said:

    Hi there, I found your web site by the use of Google while searching for a similar matter, your site came up, it seems to be good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  2. seen Manilow 70 times in concert starting in 1976 and the latest time in 2014. he still has it!

    • Wow! You really are a Fanilow! I have a question for you. What do you think of Barry Manilow always performing his medley of the TV commercial jingles he wrote? Between hearing it at the two concerts of his that I attended and on almost all the talk shows he is on, it has lost its appeal for me. I think he should retire it from his act permanently. What do you think?

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

