Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

Ode to My iPod

Walkman and batteries

Musically speaking, the one invention I am really grateful for is my iPod.  It freed me from carrying around a clunky Walkman and about ten cassette tapes.  I loved my Walkman but it was bulky and the batteries never lasted long.  I learned the hard way not to leave the batteries in the Walkman when traveling.  One time the Walkman rewind button was pushed into the on position while in my suitcase and the batteries were used up.  So from then on, I carried an extra two AA batteries with me (as well as leaving only one battery in the Walkman while traveling).  All that added to the Walkman’s large entourage.

iPod Shuffle and batteries

I was skeptical about the iPod because I thought I would be forced to buy again from iTunes music I had already bought on CD.  When I discovered I could import my own CDs onto the iPod, I bought an iPod Shuffle.  What astonished me the most about the Shuffle was the fact that it is smaller than the two AA batteries I used in my Walkman.  I couldn’t believe that something that small could hold all that music.  Even the iPod earphones were an improvement over all the earphones I had before.  I don’t know how people can jog wearing non iPod earphones; I couldn’t even walk without them falling out.

iPod Nano

A few years later, I upgraded to the iPod Nano which allows me to see which songs are playing. I can now make playlists and organize songs by artists and theme.  It’s a much easier way to make a “mixed tape” of my favorites.  I’m so happy with my Nano that I haven’t thought about upgrading it.  The only complaint I have is that every time my non-Apple computer crashed and eventually died, I had to re-import the whole contents of my iTunes playlists on my computer.  I wish I could just synch everything from my iPod back to my laptop.

Excluding my favorites (Gloria Estefan and Huey Lewis), here is a list of my Party songs playlist.

  1. “Walking on Sunshine” – Katrina and the Waves  
  2. “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” – Wham! 
  3. “Copacabana” – Barry Manilow
  4. “Neutron Dance” – The Pointer Sisters
  5. “Pump Up the Jam” – Technotronic  http://youtu.be/9EcjWd-O4jI
  6. “Roam” – The B-52’s
  7. “Footloose” – Kenny Loggins
  8. “Ghostbusters” – Ray Parker Jr.
  9. “La Bamba” – Los Lobos
  10. “Walk Like an Egyptian” – The Bangles 
  11. “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” – Simple Minds 
  12. “Gimme Some Lovin’” – Spencer Davis Group
  13. “While You See a Chance” – Steve Winwood
  14. “Back in the High Life Again” – Steve Winwood 

It’s pretty much an 80’s party mix.  I have yet to play it at an actual party.  That is a dream of mine.

Guitar Train passengers, what songs are on your favorite iPod playlist?

Single Post Navigation

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

