Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

The Guitar Train Stops at Ticketmaster

To continue Guitar Train’s Concert Month, Quirky T looks back at her experiences with Ticketmaster. Every time I dealt with Ticketmaster to get concert tickets, I thought there has to be an easier, less aggravating way to get tickets. When I started going to concerts in the early 90’s, I had to call Ticketmaster to get tickets. As soon as the tickets went on sale at 10 am, all the phone lines would be busy. I had three Ticketmaster phone numbers I would call – one in New Jersey and two in New York. I would rotate among them and call continuously until I got through. This process would usually take at least an hour until I finally got through and could buy tickets.

NJ Red Dogs tickets stub

NJ Red Dogs tickets stub

The one time I went to a record store to actually buy tickets in person, I didn’t get any. I waited on line for four hours trying to get tickets to a 1999 Bruce Springsteen concert. Wrist bands had been given out and my number was near the middle which seems good except Bruce was playing 16 shows and people were allowed to buy up to 4 tickets per show and they did. So the line barely moved as people bought 64 tickets each! After four hours of waiting on line, I had to leave to go to a New Jersey Red Dogs arena football game, ironically at the Continental Airlines Arena, where the Bruce Springsteen concerts would be held months later. I probably would have been better off calling the three Ticketmaster phone numbers to get tickets.

Ticketmaster logo
More recently, I have gone online to get tickets from Ticketmaster. The plus sides of this are no long distance phone charges and the ability to choose the seats I want. (Providing I am willing to gamble and give up the tickets I already have in order to hopefully get better ones). In other ways, going online is not easier or less aggravating than calling or literally waiting on a line for tickets. Since the tickets still go on sale at the same time, the site may become overloaded which is the equivalent of a busy signal on the phone. Now that people have Internet access on their cell phones, they can be buying tickets from anywhere, thus overloading the site. I have spent hours online before I actually got tickets.

 

 
As always, it is frustrating to be competing with people who are buying tickets just to scalp them. There are also the 64 tickets per person Bruce Springsteen fans who are probably going to more than one performance but really, all 16? So maybe my favorite musicians no longer performing live in concert is not such a bad thing as I no longer have to be aggravated by Ticketmaster or any other ticket agency.

 

 
Guitar Train passengers, what is your ideal way to get tickets to see concerts?

 

 
Next week, make sure you are on board the Guitar Train for a very exciting and surprising post. To give you a hint, please read my April 11, 2013 post called “The End of Live Concerts by my Favorites” https://guitartrain.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/the-end-of-live-concerts-by-my-favorites/  and pay special attention to the paragraph at the end which begins, “So it appears”.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Guitar Train Stops at Ticketmaster

  1. Pingback: Quirky T’s Favorite Concert Moments | Guitar Train

  2. Pingback: The Guitar Train Stops at a Huey Lewis and the News Concert!!! | Guitar Train

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

