Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

Concerts I Wish I Had Attended

Meet the Beatles album cover

Meet the Beatles album cover

To continue the theme of Concert Month on the Guitar Train, Quirky T is looking at concerts she wishes she had attended. Obviously, the top of that list is The Beatles. Having been born years after they broke up, I didn’t get a chance to see them live. That statement is probably true for many Beatles fans. From the footage I have seen of Beatles concerts, as a concert experience, it probably was not the best. Audio was primitive in the 60’s compared to now so I probably wouldn’t have heard any of the great music over all the girls (including me) screaming. Depending where I sat, I probably wouldn’t have even seen the band as there weren’t any video screens showing close-ups of the stage. Despite all that, just to be at a Beatles concert and experience that atmosphere would have been amazing.

 
Other concerts I wish I had seen are not as monumental as The Beatles. Musicians I had a chance to see in concert but didn’t are Wilson Phillips opening for Richard Marx, The Temptations with The Four Tops, The Pointer Sisters, and Bruce Springsteen.

Richard Marx ticket stub
The Wilson Phillips/ Richard Marx concert in 1990 was too far away for me to attend but I did end up seeing Richard Marx in concert 20 years later. A few years ago, a concert combining The Temptations and The Four Tops was a passing interest that I regret not acting on because it would have been amazing to see the two legendary groups together. They are still touring together so I may still have a chance to see them. Another passing interest that I did not act on was a Pointer Sisters concert in 2006. It would have been fun to hear their songs which I loved listening to in the 1980’s.

 
I will go more in-depth about why I was not able to go to a Bruce Springsteen concert in the Guitar Train’s next stop looking at the agony of Ticketmaster. As a result, I am probably one of the few people in New Jersey that has not seen the legendary New Jersey musician in concert.

 
I can’t go back in time and attend any of those concerts so I have to make sure I don’t miss any concerts which interest me in the future.

 
Guitar Train passengers, what concerts do you regret that you didn’t attend?

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Concerts I Wish I Had Attended

  1. There are so many concerts that happened when I was too young, so I can definitely relate to this. I guess the one I would have loved most would be the double bill of Queen and Mott the Hoople. (Although I did see Queen in later years as well as Ian Hunter).

  2. I have seen both Queen and McCartney – both amazing. Although I saw them a year or so later I do wish I had seen Guns n Roses at the tiny Marquee club in London. I knew about the gigs – just didn’t go for some reason.

  3. even though there were way before my time i really would’ve LOVED to see queen in their prime. from all the footage i’ve seen they always put on a hell of a show.

    • Just listening to the creativity and originality of their songs, you could imagine what an amazing concert that would be. I’ve seen footage of them at Live Aid in 1985 so I’ve seen a glimpse of them performing live.

  4. The exorbitant service charges on tickets (and prices to begin with) have taken some of the magic out of concerts lately for me. But then when you see a show where a band is on & it feels like a ‘had to be there’ performance and not just another stop on a tour, totally worth it.
    McCartney came to Quebec recently and played a marathon set – would loved to have seen that!

    • I agree with you about the huge service charges and ticket prices for concerts. The ticket prices for the musicians I’ve seen have tripled in 15 years. Not to mention the annoying process of buying tickets (which I’ll write about in next week’s post about Ticketmaster).
      But all of that is forgotten once you are at the concert hearing your favorite musician performing live. I can honestly say I’ve never been disappointed by a Paul McCartney concert. I can’t ever imagine being tired of hearing a Beatles song sung by a Beatle.

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

