Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

Quick Station Stop #5 – Guitar Tracks I Play and Ones I Want to Learn

Hagstrom guitar
As I wrote in last week’s post, I only learned to play the guitar so I could play Beatles songs and songs I wrote. The first song I learned to play on the guitar was “Amazing Grace”. Other than that song, I only know how to play Beatles songs. These songs are

 
1. Love Me Do
2. I’ll Get You
3. I’ll Follow the Sun
4. Hard Day’s Night
5. Get Back
6. Hey Jude
7. What You’re Doing
I chose those songs because I like them and they contain the few chords I know. Not knowing many chords has limited the Beatles songs I can play. So the next Beatles songs I want to learn, using the chords I know, are

 
1. Good Morning, Good Morning
2. I Should Have Known Better
3. I Want to Hold Your Hand
4. Paperback Writer
5. When I’m Sixty Four

 
I should definitely learn more chords so I can play more of my favorite Beatles songs.

Abbey Road from the front
Guitar Train passengers, tell Quirky T which Beatles songs you can play on guitar. Which Beatles songs would you recommend that I learn next? Any tips for learning those songs?
All Guitar Train passengers should keep in mind that anything posted on the Guitar Train blog must NOT contain profanity or ethnic, racial, gender, or physical insensitivity. Anyone who violates this will have to disembark at the next stop on the Guitar Train and will not be allowed back on the train.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Quick Station Stop #5 – Guitar Tracks I Play and Ones I Want to Learn

  1. The beauty of the beatles is the songs still sound great with just vocals + an acoustic guitar. Another few nice ones with relatively straight-forward chords: All My Lovin’, Nowhere Man, Yellow Sub, Octopus’ Garden. If you get into picking, Day Tripper of course is worth a try!

    • Thanks for the song suggestions. I’ll put them on my list of songs to learn. They have a few chords that I don’t know yet. I loved playing the intro riff to “Day Tripper” so I can imagine how much fun the rest of the song would be to play. What is your favorite Beatles song to play and why?

      • I completely forgot about ‘in my life’ – that would be my favourite to play! You get the nice lead at the beginning, fun to sing harmonies with a friend (and sing the harpsicord solo!), and the classic falsetto final line. Great tune.

      • Such a beautiful song! I learned the intro riff but that’s as far as I got. Another great song to add to my list of Beatles songs to learn. Thanks for the input.

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

