Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

Fave Post Fab Four Songs of the Fab Four – Quick Station Stop # 3

Abbey Road - reverse angle

The Beatles’ Abbey Road – reverse angle

As promised last month, at this quick station stop, Quirky T is listing her favorite songs by each of The Beatles after they went their separate ways. I have definitely listened to more of Paul McCartney’s post Beatles songs than anyone else’s. So my favorite post Beatles Paul song varies just like my favorite Paul Beatles song does. I’m also a fan of The Traveling Wilburys, the super group which George Harrison formed in 1988.

 
Here are my favorite post Beatles songs of each of The Beatles:
1. John – “Watching the Wheels”
2. Paul – “Band on the Run” (with Wings)
3. George – “Heading for the Light” (with The Traveling Wilburys)
4. Ringo – “Liverpool 8”

 
Writing this post made me realize that I should listen to more John Lennon and Ringo Starr post Beatles songs. I vow to do that in the future and then I will update this post with the new favorites I discover as well as my other favorites from Paul and George.

 
Guitar Train passengers, what are your fave post Beatles songs of each of The Beatles?

 
Also, educate Quirky T and tell her which John and Ringo albums and songs she should listen to and why.

 
All Guitar Train passengers should keep in mind that anything posted on the Guitar Train blog must NOT contain profanity or ethnic, racial, gender, or physical insensitivity. Anyone who violates this will have to disembark at the next stop on the Guitar Train and will not be allowed back on the train.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Fave Post Fab Four Songs of the Fab Four – Quick Station Stop # 3

  1. Pingback: The Guitar Train Stops to Listen to John Lennon Songs | Guitar Train

  2. I consider myself a big McCartney fan and I have many, many favourites when it comes to his solo career. The first ones that come to my mind are: Maybe I’m Amazed, Dear Boy, Uncle Albert, The Backseat Of My Car, Let Me Roll It, Little Lamb Dragonfly, My Love, 1985, Hi, Hi, Hi, Listen To What The Main Said, Let ‘Em In, Beware My Love, Silly Love Songs, Old Siam, Sir, Arrow Through Me, Ballroom Dancing, The Pound Is Sinking, Riding To Vanity Fair, Too Much Rain…damn it, it seems I got a bit carried away. What can I say, I love the guy’s music, and consider his solo career able to outclass the other Beatles’ ones any day.

    When it comes to John, I like POB and Imagine all right (though I’d probably rank them lower than most people do), but I’m not really into either of Sometime In New York City, Mind Games, Walls & Bridges and Rock ‘n’ Roll. Other than the occasional good song, I think they’re all extremely average. His songs on Double Fantasy I do love a whole lot though (just tuneful and catchy pop), and I’d rank the album a lot higher if it weren’t for Yoko’s contributions, which I despise.

    Haven’t heard much of George and Ringo yet.

    • So as far as post Beatles solo work goes, we’re both more into Paul McCartney than any of the other Beatles’ solo work. I’ll have to listen to the John Lennon albums you mentioned. As far as George Harrison, I would recommend listening to the Traveling Wilburys. I know it’s not solo work but George is prominent in the band. “Volume 1” contains fun songs by a bunch of very talented musician friends who seem to just be hanging out, having fun, and making music.

      • Nice to read your opinion on the Willburys – those albums have been on my wishlist for quite some time now. I’ll come back with some more thoughts once I hear them.

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

