Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

The End of Live Concerts by My Favorites

Genesis concert ticket stub

Genesis concert ticket stub

It is with great sadness that Quirky T realized that the days of seeing her favorites in concert are almost completely over.  Other than The Beatles, I have been extremely fortunate to have seen all my favorites in concert many times.  Here’s a rundown of the current touring status of my favorite musicians.

Phil Collins concert ticket stub

Phil Collins concert ticket stub

Phil Collins is no longer touring so I will never again see him perform solo or with Genesis.  On an even sadder note, he can no longer physically play the drums.  Very depressing for me, has also given up making new music.  I saw Phil Collins in concert three times.  I saw Genesis twice – in 1992 and 2007.

Gloria Estefan concert stub

Gloria Estefan concert stub

Gloria Estefan has also stopped touring so I’ll never again get to experience any more of her great performances.  I have seen her in concert four times.  At least she is still making new music.

It was a sad few days in September 2004, when I saw Phil Collins perform for the last time on Friday, September 17 and then I saw Gloria Estefan perform for the last time four days later on Tuesday, September 21.

Jon Secada concert ticket stub

Jon Secada concert ticket stub

I only saw Jon Secada in concert once as a solo performer, in 1995.  (I also saw him when he was Gloria Estefan’s back-up singer on her 1991 “Coming Out of the Dark” tour).  By 1995, he had only released two CDs, so his concert was disappointingly short – about 1 ½ hours.  He had also released those two CDs in Spanish as well as English so he could have sung some of the songs in Spanish to make the concert longer.

Paul McCartney concert ticket stub

Paul McCartney concert ticket stub

Paul McCartney continues to perform live and make new music.  I do not know if he’ll have any huge world tours like he has done in the past.  I have seen Paul in concert three times.

It’s always great to hear a Beatle perform Beatles songs.  It’s also strange to think that he is performing live several songs that The Beatles never performed live because they stopped touring in 1966.  Since he’s the only Beatle who can sing his Beatles songs, I wish he would mix it up more and play some different Beatles songs than the same ones he usually plays.  That way, eventually he can perform a majority of his Beatles songs.

Huey Lewis concert ticket stub

Huey Lewis concert ticket stub

Huey Lewis and the News have a great summer gig going.  Every year, they tour in several states from about May to September.  I’ve wanted to see them in concert my whole life.  My dream finally came true in 2009.  It was worth the wait.  It was an amazing concert but too short.  Towards the end of the concert, the audience yelled out songs they wanted Huey to sing.  He said he couldn’t because he had “so many hits, so little time.”

Even though he tours every summer, he does not come to my area every year.  Two years ago, I had to travel several states west to see him.  Again, it was worth it.  I’m hoping Huey Lewis and the News will be performing nearby this summer; especially since they are celebrating the 30th anniversary of their great album, “Sports”.

Barry Manilow concert ticket stub

Barry Manilow concert ticket stub

Barry Manilow seems to never stop performing.  He just finished two months of performances on Broadway.  I have seen him in concert twice, both times at Radio City Music Hall in New York City.  While his concerts are great, since he’s not one of my very favorites, I am actually fine if I don’t see him in concert again.  Of course if I was presented with the opportunity to see him, I would go willingly.  I would not be like the majority of the men at his concerts who have the I-was-dragged-to this-concert-against-my-will look.

So it appears the Guitar Train may no longer be stopping to see live concerts.  Huey Lewis is my last chance to see a concert by one of my favorites.  Let’s hope he plays close by this year.

Guitar Train passengers, I guess the solution to my dilemma of not seeing anyone live would be to like new musicians who are actually making new music and touring.  Can you suggest anyone for me to listen to and become such a big fan of that I’ll be willing to pay the high ticket prices to see perform live?

All Guitar Train passengers should keep in mind that anything posted on the Guitar Train blog must NOT contain profanity or ethnic, racial, gender, or physical insensitivity.  Anyone who violates this will have to disembark at the next stop on the Guitar Train and will not be allowed back on the train.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The End of Live Concerts by My Favorites

  1. Pingback: The Guitar Train Stops at a Huey Lewis and the News Concert!!! | Guitar Train

  2. Pingback: The Guitar Train Stops at Ticketmaster | Guitar Train

  3. Pingback: Concerts Quirky T Has Attended | Guitar Train

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

