Guitar Train

Hop aboard the Guitar Train to the final destination of Advanced Musical Knowledge

Jon Secada and the Cadbury Creme Egg

Cadbury Crème Egg

Cadbury Crème Egg

With Easter coming up, Quirky T has been dreaming of Cadbury Creme Eggs.  They are my favorite Easter chocolate.  I hoard these precious jewels as soon as they are available.  A Creme Egg along with Cadbury Mini Eggs will be the first things I eat on Easter Sunday after having given sweets up for Lent.

Heart, Soul, & a Voice CD

Cadbury Creme Eggs also remind me of singer-songwriter Jon Secada.  During Lent in 1995, Jon Secada was signing copies of his then latest CD, “Heart, Soul, & A Voice” at a music store in New York City a few days before his concert at the famous Radio City Music Hall.  A friend and I went into Manhattan to meet him.  On the way there, we stopped to eat at the cafeteria in Fordham University at Lincoln Center.  At the register, they were selling Cadbury Creme Eggs.  Of course, I had to buy one to stock up.

We then left to get on the long line outside the music store to meet Jon Secada.  When it was finally my turn to get his autograph on my CD, I spontaneously decided to give him my precious Cadbury Creme Egg.  So as Jon signed my CD, I nervously asked him if he would like a Cadbury Creme Egg.  He looked at me like I was quirky and said, “A what?”  His assistant quickly grabbed the Creme Egg and said, “Yes.”  He obviously knew about the greatness of the Crème Egg.  Jon Secada apparently didn’t; maybe they are not popular in Miami where he’s from.

Jon Secada and Cadbury Creme Egg

That story always makes me smile since I am sure I’m the only one who has ever offered my prized possession, a Cadbury Creme Egg, to Jon Secada.

Guitar Train passengers, have you ever given a celebrity an unusual gift?  What was it and what’s the story behind it?  Also, what’s your favorite Easter candy and why?

All Guitar Train passengers should keep in mind that anything posted on the Guitar Train blog must NOT contain profanity or ethnic, racial, gender, or physical insensitivity.   Anyone who violates this will have to disembark at the next stop on the Guitar Train and will not be allowed back on the train.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Jon Secada and the Cadbury Creme Egg

  1. Pingback: Favorites Month Part 2 – Jon Secada | Guitar Train

  2. steve on said:

    cadbury creme eggs are awesome, but peeps are my favorite.

    maybe jon’s learned to appreciate the mystical cadbury creme eggs over the past 19 years.

Hi, Guitar Train passengers, thanks for hopping aboard. I'm interested in your comments on this post.

